Estero Annual History Contest

2022 Report

2022 High School Scholarship WinnerHigh School Submissions at Estero High School:

Terrill Hensley, guidance counselor at the Estero High School, coordinated the essay contest at the school level. 10 essays were submitted by HS students.

Four students wrote and submitted essays. Three students wrote on all three topics; an additional student selected and wrote on one of the three topics. We had 15 judges, with 5-8 assigned to each topic.

The Awards ceremony was held May18, 2022 at the Estero High School.

These students each received $1000.00 scholarships:

  • Area – Business History – J. Oelmann
  • Area – Village History – J. Oelmann (pictured at right)
  • Area – Governance History – Clayton Chauncey

4th Grade Submissions at Three Oaks Elementary School

Jessica Thompson, reading specialist at Three Oaks Elementary School, coordinated the program at the school level.

3 essays were submitted by 4th grade students, and each essay was judged to qualify for one of the three awards. Five judges evaluated the essays and determined the appropriate prize for each.

The Awards was held May 20, 2022 at Three Oaks Elementary School.

These students and their awards are as follows:

  • First Prize ($200.) – Lucas Rosabella
  • Second Prize ($150.) – Natalie Gillern
  • Third Prize ($100.) – Peyton Schwalbe

Lucas read his essay to the entire fourth grade classes and teachers. Parents and the school principals also attended the ceremony.